Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: sunbeep ( )
Date: December 13, 2022 12:56PM

I went through 12 years of public school like most people did. Every year I would bring home a quarterly report card for my Dad to see. This wasn’t a fun experience as I wasn’t a stellar student. I learned how to doctor these report cards and turn a C- to a C+ easy enough and sometimes a D into a B.

If the mighty mormon church were to bring home a report card, this is what I think it would look like:

History: F-
Science: F-
Language Arts: B+
Math: F-
Physical Ed: D-
Social Studies: F-
Seminary: B
Crafts: ?
Art: C

Is this a fair assessment of what a mormon church report card might look like?

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: Done & Done ( )
Date: December 13, 2022 01:35PM

I'd say you are about right, except, as an artist myself and making my living that way, I find you a little generous with the Art grade.

I realized if I were asked to grade the same disciplines 50 or so years ago it would be very different for me.

Say, 1968:

History: A-- Since we were the only ones who knew that Native Americans were really Lamanites

Science: A-- Since we knew the world was 6,000 years old, AND, we were the only ones who knew coffee was poison and sugar wasn't.

Language: A --Since we learned languages to spread the Lord's gospel so all could be saved.

Math: A --Since we all knew what 10% of anything at all was and that a church couldn't be true with a prophet and twelve apostles.

Seminary: A-- Since getting the while their young is the Lord's way.

Crafts: A-- Since all the ladies quilted and learned crafts and home making skills in Relief Society. My mom made Marble Grapes, clear cracked marble jewelry, a waste paper basked made from a cardboard ice cream bucket with rolled up magazine pages to decorate the outside, and a Barbie Doll cozy for the roll of toilet paper.