Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: brianberkeley ( )
Date: November 19, 2016 04:44PM

First off, thank you all for your perceptive comments. All of them were helpful.

I thought I would share with you all my compromises made with my wife about this motorcycle issue.

I have a Honda Rebel. It stays, and I ride around town. No freeway.

I bought a Can Am Spyder trike. It has a 990cc Vortax engine, and accelerates like a sport bike, but safer. What fun to ride!!!

I will not buy a large cruiser.

My scuba diving in the Central Visayas in the Philippines is unchanged. If my regulator clogs up, I die.

What caused me to change my mind was when my wife reminded me that my life is not my own. I am a nurse and am caring for my 92 year old mother. I also am caregiver for everyone in my family because of my 30 year career in medicine. Against this argument, I have no answer.

Comments?

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: Loyalexmo ( )
Date: November 19, 2016 04:56PM

Sounds good to me.

I think there should always be a balance. You need your passions, but you also need to be there for your family. Nothing wrong with compromises.

Posted by: elderolddog ( )
Date: November 19, 2016 04:58PM

Well, if you're not going to live 24 hours a day in your Safe Room/Panic Room, everything is a risk!

Posted by: dagny ( )
Date: November 19, 2016 04:59PM

Get life insurance if people depend on you. Then live your life.

Posted by: Loyalexmo ( )
Date: November 19, 2016 05:02PM

Living your life is one thing, but I wouldn't tell my teen cousins "just drink and drive, it's no big deal!" Live your life! Have tons of unprotected sex, it's fun! Of course it's fun, of course it would feel awesome. But would it be worth it if the worst happened? And of course conversely, it's not worth it to live entirely for others and have zero pleasures.