Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Twinker ( )
Date: May 19, 2011 10:39AM

have you noticed that TBM's commenting on news articles, blogs, etc. seem to have a disproportionate number of spelling and grammar errors?

As a teacher, I came to the opinion that most of our ability to spell correctly came not from weekly spelling lists but from reading on a wide variety of subjects. My sense is that people who read and study and find their way out of TSSC just seem to have a better grasp on spelling and grammar.

Or maybe not?

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: bignevermo ( )
Date: May 19, 2011 10:43AM

speling and grammer are indicaters of edumacation aint it??? :)

Posted by: Rebeckah ( )
Date: May 19, 2011 10:47AM

And don't even get me started on the logical fallacies. I wish we were teaching logic in elementary school...

Posted by: Puli ( )
Date: May 19, 2011 12:20PM

I have sometimes copied posts over to a word document so I can run and spelling and grammar proof-read program on it. Other times, I notice after the fact that I left out a word I though I had written or some other stupid error. I would think a lot of these errors are more the result of not checking rather than lack of education.

My spelling has been improved by spell check, however, and it continues to be challenged (I know I am a notoriously bad speller).

Date: May 19, 2011 12:31PM

You are so right, Puli!

And also spelling has much to do with having a strong visual memory.

Posted by: Thomas Q. Monson ( )
Date: May 19, 2011 12:33PM

Posted by: Dave the Atheist ( )
Date: May 19, 2011 12:35PM

Posted by: voweaver ( )
Date: May 19, 2011 01:37PM

The ONE recurring error in grammar that makes me think of squeaking chalk on a blackboard is when a TBM "bares" his or her testimony.