Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: AlmostFell ( )
Date: May 23, 2011 12:37PM

I've posted before that I'm an attorney who would like to find something else to do with my life. I'm also currently between jobs. The college where I got my BA is hiring an academic advisor for new students and I am very excited by this prospect. I've written a somewhat unorthodox cover letter. Would you guys mind looking it over and telling me what you think. I'd really appreciate it! Here it is:

I am writing to express my interest in COLLEGE’s available academic advisor position. Even though I am an attorney by training and education, I am interested in a career change. I am drawn to this position by my desire to work with college students and by my respect for COLLEGE’s mission.

The seed of my desire to assist students was planted when I was a student at COLLEGE. As a sophomore, I worked as a peer counselor in DORM. The peer counselors were to work with undecided students to help them determine a major. The backbone of my advising philosophy is formed by what I learned as a peer counselor. I can sum up my philosophy in one word: explore.

I would counsel students, even those who have declared a major, to use their time taking general education courses to explore their interests. By doing so, they will find themselves declaring, and perhaps changing, their majors. I would even advise them to try a class in a subject matter they may have disliked in high school. The change in atmosphere and a different teaching method may reveal to them that they actually like the subject.