Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: kimball ( )
Date: May 25, 2011 10:23AM

My experience at BYU was a positive one, and I never had reason to think the school wasn't open-minded. But that's probably because I majored in civil engineering and rarely ventured outside of the Clyde Building. There are lots of good people in that building, and I could care less about the anal pricks anywhere else.

So I studied structural design, soil mechanics, hydrology and traffic flow. My days were filled with math and rulers and calculators.

And so it always came as sort of a laugh when, at the end of each semester, the professors would encourage us to fill out reviews about them, and the reviews would be riddled with questions like "did your professor bring you closer to the Savior" and "was the professor effective at incorporating gospel principles into the curriculum." It was kind of a running joke among us students that "yes, I really felt the spirit while calculating the moment of inertia of an I-beam" or "deriving the time to peak flow volume of a river reminded me of Lehi's dream."

We often didn't know how in the hell to answer those questions, and they seemed to dominate the questionaire. But most of the time our professors had used some contrived story of something they did in scouting or a ward activity on the first day of class to help us get to know them. So we gave them the highest rating on the list and moved on to the next ridiculous question.

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: LochNessie ( )
Date: May 25, 2011 11:14AM

Haha. I remember those questions. Easy to answer for religious professors, not so easy for everyone else, especially in the science department. However, in regular classes it was common to start and end with a prayer. I wonder if the professors who did not were reprimanded? Hmmm.

Posted by: axeldc ( )
Date: May 25, 2011 01:02PM