Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: beardedatBYU ( )
Date: February 12, 2018 05:43PM

I've been haunting this site for three years and finally registered. Maybe I'll get around to sharing my story. I finally stop denying what I knew the truth really was seven years ago but I still have days where the impact of the religious trauma creeps in. Last weeks HB330 brought up a lot of emotion.

Living in Utah, everyone, even the TBMs knows there is a huge problem with the separation of church and state here. Even when I was a TBM this issue got under my skin. Like many, I feel powerless to do anything about it because the church is so big and powerful, and the majority of state legislators and judges are more than willing to do the church's bidding, so its something we seem to have to live with.

The recent HB330, although dead at the moment (thankfully), really increased my blood pressure. I am a victim of some serious spiritual abuse by two bishops (one of them had an affair with my ex-wife while we were still married) and a stake president. Besides the adultery, I've went to this stake president, my current stake pres, and church headquarters reporting the abuse of my son at the hands of my ex-wife. I have been laughed at, hung up on, or with the current stake president, struggled to convince him of my experience. In hindsight I wish I had recorded some of these conversations.