Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: nomomomo ( )
Date: June 04, 2011 12:40PM

Stray Mutt said that for 30 years people didn't use 2 envelope wdding announcemetns.

Well, I guess I was not from Utah but lived here when engagged, so it was 24 years ago. We got the very traditional 2 envelope with invites and yeah, the reception after the temple. It was weird.

When I graduated in MI I also used the 2 envelope that was 85. So maybe he is right, I and my ex were not from here.

I can't remember last time I got an old fashioned invite....they are al the one page photo things.

I admit I like the photos, but then what is the point of saving them when they have al that writing? I like to save the individual picuteres.

Sorry about my typing. hands messed up today for some reason.

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: outofutah ( )
Date: June 04, 2011 01:14PM

Are you saying that for the past 30 years people in Utah haven't used the two-envelope announcement?

Married 32 years ago and in Utah, at that point a folded sheet of paper with a photo super-imposed with the invite details was the usual TBM route. In my native NY; the 2 envelope invitation has been used for as long as I, and my parents, can recall (and still used today.)

Posted by: nomomomo ( )
Date: June 04, 2011 01:52PM

Sorry, I don't know how to quote his post-it was on the "addressing an envelope" part 1. Stray Mutt was saying that for the past 30 years people in Utah have been using invites/announcements OTHER than the 2 envelope. I was pointing out that I was married 24 years ago and used the 2 envelope, but I was from MI so that may have been why....

I think the 2 envelope is what is proper, is it not?

Date: June 04, 2011 08:51PM