Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: just a thought ( )
Date: June 07, 2011 07:57PM

According to the Utah Department of Health, Utah ranks fourth in the nation for the greatest consumption of antidepressants. But the problem is that these medications "do not work on most of the consumers to whom they are prescribed."

http://www.ksl.com/index.php?nid=1010&sid=15849609

I'm no expert, but I have a theory on why this is so. Taking an antidepressant medication, but failing to address the underlying reasons for your depression, will not heal your depression. I further believe most mormons in Utah suffer from an unconscious, unrecognized notion that the religion they've based their life on is a complete scam (it isn't hard to discover the scam, the really hard part is admitting it to yourself and others).

Bottomline, the reason we are so depressed is due to a large divergence from our behavior/lifestyle and our true beliefs, whether consciously recognized or not.

I would actually like to hear from the true experts on RfM about this. Why are Utahns so depressed?

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: brefots ( )
Date: June 07, 2011 08:39PM

I was very dishonest with myself as a mormon, but that doesn't mean that every mormon is. In fact I think many are quite sincere in their beliefs. And I have lot's of experience from depression. Depression arise from a sense of hopelessness, if there is nothing I can do to make my life more interesting, worthwhile, then yes I get depressed. So things like unemployment, social status, friends (or lack of friends), abuse e.t.c. is a big part of the problem. Also, depression is in a sense learned helplessness, you have learned that it doesn't matter what you do, and one need to unlearn this destructive belief. For many I think it's only a matter of having something meaningful to do, a job to go to or friends to hang with.