Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: lily ( )
Date: June 09, 2011 10:39AM

Last spring I graduated from college and took a job at a group home like setting for troubled kids. Since July of last year I have been living and working with teenage girls. I have 8 girls, ages 12-16. Some of them are extremely troubled and behavior-challenged.

I initially applied to work with high school boys, but was told they didn't have any openings. For the past few months I have been trying to get into the boys' community b/c living with teen girls has been a nightmare.

Today I was given the news that on June 19th I will move over into the boys' community!! I will be floating among younger boys for the summer, but hopefully will get placed in a high school boys' home before too long!

This is amazing news, and probably means I will be able to stay at my job longer than I would if they refused to move me. Bottom line? Lily is having a great day!!!

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: ExMormonRom ( )
Date: June 09, 2011 10:40AM

Woo hoo! And more importantly, you're doing something you enjoy.

Just sayin'...

Ron

Posted by: robertb ( )
Date: June 09, 2011 10:41AM

Posted by: Rebeckah ( )
Date: June 09, 2011 10:41AM

I hope the boys are less of a nightmare -- but challenging kids are challenging kids. :)

Posted by: Queen of Denial ( )
Date: June 09, 2011 10:43AM

Posted by: knotheadusc ( )
Date: June 09, 2011 10:58AM

Wow... I admire you for taking on that job! I hope it all works out beautifully!

Posted by: Timothy ( )
Date: June 09, 2011 11:03AM

Posted by: nomilk ( )
Date: June 09, 2011 11:07AM

Yay!! I always worked with boys/men. For some reason I am better and more effective. ( plus the noise is less shrill )
Ypu're gonna love it, eventually.

Posted by: lily ( )
Date: June 09, 2011 11:13AM

Challenging kids are challenging kids- and I know that.