Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: CateS ( )
Date: August 14, 2018 01:29PM

I am not a scientist. However i read once that reduced particulate matter in pollution has exacerbated global warming because the particulate matter in the atmosphere reflects solar radiation back into space.

Apparently when Mt Pinatubo in the Philappinnes erupted a few years ago, the increased atmospheric particulate matter effectively slowed down the rate of warming, albeit temporarily.

Any scientists want to chime in on this? I’m curious and would slso like to know about the efficacy of adding sulphur dioxide to the upper atmosphere to slow down global warming that way.

Thanks.

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: Brother Of Jerry ( )
Date: August 14, 2018 02:09PM

Yes, more particulate matter in the air would slow or even reverse global warming. The trade off is that we would have to breathe the particulate-laden air. Gag. Plus particulates (aka dirty air) are only temporary. Gravity and/or rain will take them out of the air over time.

Sulphur dioxide (aka rotten egg gas) does reflect sunlight. It also smells awful, is poisonous, and is corrosive. So the challenges are: how do you manufacture several hundred million tons of the stuff, how do you get it into the stratosphere, and how do you keep it there. Plus, adding large amounts of sulphur dioxide to the atmosphere may have its own bad effects on climate.

You are asking the right questions, "what are our options, and will this work?"

Posted by: Lot's Wife ( )
Date: August 14, 2018 02:11PM

BoJ is the life of every party.

Seriously, thanks for the information. It's nice to read posts about complex questions from people who are experts.

. . . one of the nice things about RfM.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 08/14/2018 02:11PM by Lot's Wife.

Date: August 14, 2018 02:28PM