Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Stunted ( )
Date: June 17, 2011 06:06PM

When I was a student at BYU- way back in the 80's- there was a fair amount of talk about great works of Mormon Art. Of course there weren't any actual great works of Mormon art to discuss so the conversations centered around the future great works of Mormon Art we would create.

Since the Holy Ghost was the source of inspiration for all the past great masters it was only a matter of time before Mormons would dominate in every area of creativity and art. It couldn't be otherwise because everybody knows Mormons own The Spirit and only loan it out on special occasions.

There I was, a theatre student at God's own university. I was surrounded by mediocrity just as I had been my whole life. Of course some of the students actually believed that Saturday's Warrior was the pinnacle of human achievement. The honest students and many of the faculty actually recognized what an embarrassment it was and we longed to do better. Unfortunately we couldn't do better. It wasn't allowed.

Every production I was involved with had limits placed on it. Language had to be cleaned up, costumes had to be more modest, dance moves could not be too suggestive. In short, real life had to be replaced with something more acceptable. I was in a film class and half way through the semester the professor made an announcement. We would no longer be discussing any films that were rated R. Up to that point we had weekly discussions about the merits and short comings of whatever movies we had recently seen. Someone complained and suddenly the most important segment of the movie industry was now off limits in a class that was supposed to be about the movie industry. I cringed then and I'm cringing again at the memory.