Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: ginger ( )
Date: July 07, 2011 06:00PM

Wow I just stumbled upon this site last night somehow. Anyway I'm glad I did. My husband and I have been married for 11 years and we have three beautiful children. We had a "normal" wedding though. We never were married in the temple and don't ever plan to be. I was raised in Utah and we were members of the church growing up. My mom still is very active but my dad isn't. My sister and I aren't but my brother is. Once I graduated high school I told my mom I had no interest in going, but she still asked that I went to sacrament with her. So out of respect I did since I lived at home for free. I haven't believed in the church's teachings in a long time and it doesn't take much to figure out that there is not a lot of truth to it.

Where I live right now I am completely surrounded though. When we first moved in here about six years ago, we had the missionaries knocking on the door left and right. Neighbors coming over inviting us to activities. I've been asked to go to relief society broadcasts. Some neighbors just the other night asked us over for dinner. I hope that's just it though. I always feel like there is an agenda. Maybe I'm the one in the wrong here for assuming that but I've had people around here flat out ask me how I feel about church. A lot of nerve there! Anyway I'm rambling. I just wanted to introduce myself. I'm glad to know I'm not the only one.

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: ExMormonRon ( )
Date: July 07, 2011 06:02PM

Welcome aboard!

You didn't hang with Gilligan, the Skipper too, the millionaire and his wife, MaryAnne and the professor did you? If so, that might explain your being unaware of the site. :)

Ron

Posted by: lillium ( )
Date: July 07, 2011 06:04PM

I'm sure they have wifi silly.

Posted by: ExMormonRon ( )
Date: July 07, 2011 06:05PM