Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: mbreenntu ( )
Date: May 09, 2024 08:36AM

Hi all. I'm currently studying for a Master's degree in Sociology, for which I am conducting a research project into the experiences of LGBT+ ex-Mormons in the UK at Nottingham Trent University.

As a gay man who was born into the church, I've faced my own struggles. A decade after leaving the church, I still can't quite make peace with my parent's continued participation in the church despite its harmful teachings. There's been plenty of research into these issues in the US (especially in Utah), but there is basically no research in the UK. As a much less religious society than the US, the experience of being in the LDS Church in the UK is different, as are the perceptions of those around us, and potentially therefore our relationships to them. As such, I'm aiming to identify the challenges faced by UK-based LGBT+ ex-Mormons before, during and after leaving the church, and how they deal with this transition.

Therefore, I am looking for fellow LGBT+ ex-Mormons aged 18 and over in the UK to tell me their stories. I would also be happy to speak to family members or close friends of LGBT+ ex-Mormons who can give their insights. You can take part either in an online interview, or by providing a written statement about your experiences. You don't even need to tell me your real name, and the identity of all participants will be protected. If you decide to take part, you will still have the right to withdraw from the study, and any information you share will be protected in compliance with academic standards and UK data protection regulations, including GDPR.