Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: l2 ( )
Date: September 16, 2011 12:25PM

"I have been a student of Communist China and the cultural revolution which took place there and throughout my course of study I have been struck by the similarities between the LDS church and authoritarian governments. The enforcement of groupthink is the most dangerous and dehumanizing commonality, in my opinion, and, unfortunately, seems to provide for the basis for most church experience now. My goodness, the leaders have just about instituted it as the only way to legitimately bear testimony. We are told what we should include in a testimony now – how ridiculous is that? And how boring?"

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: Stray Mutt ( )
Date: September 16, 2011 12:32PM

...when we were learning about totalitarian governments. Hmmmm, that sounds kinda like...the church. But it couldn't be, right? Because the church was directed by Jesus and/or God, so it must be okay somehow.

Years later I realized, no, it's not okay.

Posted by: baura ( )
Date: September 16, 2011 12:34PM

source???

Posted by: axeldc ( )
Date: September 16, 2011 12:48PM

It's one thing to dictate someone's behaviors, but it's another all together to dictate their thoughts. Being kicked out for thinking seems counter to the purposes of a university degree.

Posted by: axeldc ( )
Date: September 16, 2011 12:45PM

I always wondered why Mormons were on the one hand so chauvinistic about the US, almost crying about democracy and freedom, and at the same time so disdainful of those who actually use those freedoms to choose their own lives.