Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Jesus Smith ( )
Date: January 18, 2012 11:16AM

I realize that it is anti-piracy, but if it can be used by Monster Cable to confront resell of its used cables on Craigslist, couldn't LDSinc also claim that their trademarks/copyrights or some other crap be violated by sites like RfM?

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: blindguy ( )
Date: January 18, 2012 11:47AM

While I am not a lawyer, I have taken business law classes in the past, and I have looked at portions of the bills. The basic answer to your question would be yes and no.

What would not be affected should SOPA and PIPA become law would be the personal stories and experiences found on this board. Those come from the person's own thoughts and are written in their own words.

On the other hand, posts like the one at

http://exmormon.org/phorum/read.php?2,394996

(my latest, by the way) could well be affected. Both bills essentially aim to curb direct copying and quotations from other websites without the written permission of the story's copyright holder(s).

It would not be a surprise to me if I learned that the LDS church was one of the bill's backers. However, unlike the California gay rights amendment initiative, the LDS church would be a bit player in a much bigger pond.

Posted by: Lethbridge Reprobate ( )
Date: January 18, 2012 11:56AM

I'm sure the MORG would stifle any and all comment in public forums that express any dissent whatsoever. They are after all, the perfect model for George Orwell's 1984....

Posted by: GNPE ( )
Date: January 18, 2012 12:01PM

aren't PIPA/SOPA tools of the entertainment industry more than anything else?

'of course' we know how "entertaining" the crap-ola that comes out of SL/COB is.... Don't we?

Date: January 18, 2012 01:36PM