Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: allicat ( )
Date: January 19, 2012 10:46PM

So I am 23 and just out of college, and I"m working in retail right now, and barely making ends meet. I know January is the end of the fiscal year for most retailers, but I haven't been put on the schedule for more than 4 hours in the past two weeks. I've tried e-mailing our general manager twice, and she assured me hours would be more bulky soon.

The problem is its my primary source of income and my rent is due. Does anyone know an effective strategy to negotiate for a shift? I've tried posting on our "shift swap/cover" board but since no one is getting hours, no one is letting go of them either.

I've posted my resume on several job search sites, applied to umpteen new jobs and even registered with the state's government jobs program. I have a bachelor's degree, and while I know the market is still recovering, I'm floundering. Its starting to feel hopeless.

And on top of that all my mormon issues

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: deco ( )
Date: January 19, 2012 10:54PM

Perhaps you might consider paying more in tithing, as many people reap blessings by giving more.

I also think you could use some of your ample nonworking time to clean up around the church, or perhaps doing some tracting to teach people about the gospel.

Date: January 19, 2012 11:06PM

LOL fat chance of that I"m lazy and its below zero out there.

At this point I'd clean the floor of the church with a toothbrush to get paid.

Posted by: Mia ( )
Date: January 19, 2012 11:11PM

I worked in retail for years. January february and maybe march, suck! It's always been that way. You may be able to find a little extra work doing inventory somewhere.

Posted by: scarecrowfromoz ( )
Date: January 19, 2012 11:23PM