Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: CA girl ( )
Date: January 30, 2012 05:17PM

This question is mostly for those of us who actually loved or liked being Mormon but left when they realized the extent of the lies and lack of benefits from Mormonism Inc. Because I actually really liked being Mormon back in the day. I liked feeling special, having the answers, knowing I could have an eternal family, dressing up on Sunday and going to church (mostly to daydream, but still...), feeling needed, belonging to a group of ready-made friends. I felt like I could make the life and family I wanted for myself by being a good enough Mormon. Sure, when I graduated from BYU single, my confidence slipped a bit but I just worked harder. I served a mission, I was RS pres in my single's ward, I eventually moved to Utah looking for the right single RM. And it worked, I married an RM in the temple - surely now all that was promised, the saints would be given? Right?

Actually, not even a little bit. As we all know, after they've got you (i.e. temple marriage and small children) the fun ends and the demands begin. Not only did my RM not provide a fairy tale ending but Mormonism began demanding more right as they were dumbing down and offering less. I started seeing the ugly side of Mormonism but clung to the idea that if I just worked hard enough... Figuring out the truth of Mormonism was a huge relief. I wasn't crazy after all. Mormonism was. For a long time, I was more interested in proving my sanity and Mormonism's insanity to worry about much else.