Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: TheIrrationalShark ( )
Date: February 18, 2012 11:11AM

Hello,

I'm new to these boards, so I'll give a bit of an introduction to myself. I began questioning the LDS church a few years ago, and I am currently an atheist. As I am just a sophomore in High School, I still live with my parents who are staunch conservative Mormons. Almost everyone in my family is a TBM (immidiate and extended) with only a few extended relatives being the exceptions. My family has deep roots in the church. I live in a highly Mormon area in the Salt Lake Valley. The majority of people in my school are Mormon, and most of my friends are as well. None of these people are 'Jack Mormons.' They're all very much active in the church, seminary, etc.

When I came out as an Atheist, my parents were very disappointed and asked why I stopped believing. I responded saying that there’s no evidence for God. My mom was confused by this, because Faith>Evidence. My dad said that there is evidence and that I was “getting misinformation from the Internet.” Which is ironic, because he later started sending me misinformed ‘evidence’ and Mormon propaganda (he gave me a book called Lehi in the Desert, the World of the Jaredites, There Were Jaredites by Hugh Nibley. I haven’t read it yet, but have any of you?).

Anyway, on to the actual topic:

It recently struck me that perhaps the General Authorities don’t believe in this religion themselves? Of course, it’s all speculation, but what do you think?

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: notanymore ( )
Date: February 18, 2012 11:32AM

That is a good question that I have been wondering about myself. There is substantial evidence that the GA know about the contradictions in church doctrine and continue to lie and cover it up whether they believe it all still is a mystery to me.