Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Cheryl ( )
Date: February 24, 2012 11:26AM

Do most mormons usually have good intentions when they're brash, callous, pushy, self righteous, or off the mark?

Yes, they do.

Does that mean the bereaved at a funeral or other vulnerable exmos must abide their barbs and protect their easily wounded sense of persecution?

Not really.

It's a choice. Grieving exmo family members get to decide if they want to clear their thoat, say they're leaving the conversation, then turn on their heel and wave off ill chosen words and gestures.

That's right. It's their choice if they want to rear up in anger, walk away in disgust, quietly slink off, or nod and listen to insults such as how their apostacy caused the premature death of their parent, child or sibling.

When I was a teacher, parents sometimes made outlandish excuses for why classrooms of kids should overlook behaviors like biting, bullying, spitting and such. Why? Because the little culprits meant well and couldn't help it.

No. It isn't fair to expect everyone else to accomodate anyone who doesn't know better than to mistreat those they think should cowtow to their will. One of the best ways to teach social lessons is to let consequences happen in the natural course of life.

The problem with mormons is that they don't usually feel the brunt of what they do because so many of us play along with whatever motivates their bad behavior. When we first leave mormonism, we're hesitant to let them know we don't like how they treat us because we don't want to give exmos a bad name.

Last time I checked we're considered apostates, heretics, fallen saints, and worse. Being overly concerned about TBM motivations hasn't helped our image a whole lot. But then, I don't much care about how mormons see me as long as they stay off my property and out of my hair.