Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: exmomedic ( )
Date: November 27, 2010 02:06AM

Hello Everyone,

My name's Ashlie and I'm a 24 year old medic from Los Angeles, CA, and am a recovering ex-mormon. I was baptized 8/30/09 and had doubts from the beginning. When I was baptized I was living with 2 very molly mormon girls who were constantly lovebombing me and pressuring me to take the missionary discussions. I finally did, and believed a lot of it didnt add up, but for some reason I had a moment of temporary insanity and agreed to be baptized. I also did this in part to help keep my room in the apartment I was renting for fear if I didnt I would be asked to move out. Over the time I lived with these girls, they became very vengeful because I was not a perfect mormon girl and wouldnt give up my soda or coffee or whatever.I worked on sundays regularly (I'm a paramedic and its required of my job) and that made me a bad person. The singles ward I was baptized into was very clique-ish and I was always deemed to be an outsider even though I lived with 2 members of the relief society presidency. I also refused to tithe because I simply didnt have the money. They were constantly having the missionaries stop by to "visit" me. After a while I became very resentful and tensions were too high for me so I moved out about 8 months ago. I found this board while I was living with the mormons and have always been a lurker, and eventually came to the conclusion that the church is not true. I struggle with this day to day from the conditioning and brainwashing that I went through while I was living with those girls. I know the church is not true but I miss the companionship although it was fake. This board seems like a very open and friendly place, and I'd love to make some new friends here, since all my "friends" have disappeared since I'm inactive in their eyes. I'