Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: anon for this ( )
Date: December 07, 2010 02:12AM

I am a BYU alumn, and I am an exmo. When combined, these two simple pieces of information cause me endless grief. Obviously I have to put it on my resume when applying for jobs, and where you went to college is a natural topic of conversation. How do you other exmo BYU grads handle this? I feel I am judged negatively by nevermos because they think I'm a religious fanatic, but I also feel I am judged negatively my TBMs who know I'm a BYU grad but obviously don't live their "standards." I don't like to discuss my religious affiliation period, past or present, if I can help it. But being a BYU grad makes that damn near impossible sometimes. I'd like to hear how others handle this.

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: benben ( )
Date: December 07, 2010 03:23AM

This is a heated topic that comes up repeatedly on this board. Some people are adamant that having BYU on your resume should NOT hurt you one bit. Others, myself included, have INDEED been hurt by having it on my resume. And, more precisely, the fact that BYU is on my resume has caused countless awkward conversations during interviews. You know how asking one's religion is supposed to be off limits? Yeah...not so much if BYU is on your resume.

But in all fairness, it depends a lot on where you live, and what career field you are applying to. I live in the West where mo'ism is very common, and most interviewees know mormons. Interestingly enough, the times I get grilled about being mormon is from the mormon employers. But hey...that is just my experience.