Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Lori C ( )
Date: June 02, 2012 12:26AM

1. How my first ward that I grew up with and all the people that I loved as my friends and family could suddenly be broken apart and I NEVER saw many of those people again due to newly drawn ward boundaries. It was like someone cut off a piece of my soul and all the "love" I'd been taught about was gone as I could not understand why even as a child all these people I loved and was totally comfortable with were suddenly out of my life.

2. My new ward was in a rougher part of town, I knew no one and had to start completely over with friendships. This was really hard on my young mind.

3. The pressure to get baptized.

4. Turning 11 and going to Merrie Miss and having my first lessons on how when I graduated high school I was to marry an RM and do his dishes, iron his clothes and do all the housework so he could go into the world and fulfill his duties. This terrified me. I was a budding yound woman, good at sports, had a great voice and my entire life was to be based soley around a man. This was terrifying to me.

5. Turning 12 and going to church week after week and hearing the same lessons over and over in YW about marrying young, having many babies, and then in Sunday School about the same stories of JS that I'd already heard a million times. I was at the time watching my mother go through 11 miscarriages and the realities of multiple pregnancies was terrifying to me as I saw what could happen and how tired and angry she was all the time.

6. Feeling like I had to have this extraordinary personality because the older I got the more the people around me were dumbing down and I refused and therefore had to be super human.