Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: animathiest ( )
Date: June 21, 2012 04:50PM

Hi, this is my first time posting to the RfM (though I may be posting more, as things have gotten a little more complicated in my life).

I am a nevermo, but have lived in close proximity to a Mormon town; I attended school there too.

Anyways, my former music teacher and her husband are going to be going on a mission later this year. They are both at least in their late 50s, early 60s, and I think it's a safe bet her husband already went on one when he was younger. My question to everyone out there is: is something like this common, early seniors going on a mission?

If this is rare, and the morg really is on the verge of collapsing, would this be a sign of desperation on the church's behalf?

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: caedmon ( )
Date: June 21, 2012 04:55PM

Senior missions have become pretty common in the last ten years or so. It seems to be a real badge of honor to spend your retirment years and money serving TSCC instead of spending time with your grandkids, traveling or just relaxing.

I don't think it's a sign of desperation. I just think TSCC found a new source of unpaid labor to exploit.

Posted by: forbiddencokedrinker ( )
Date: June 21, 2012 04:59PM

The church has used senior missionary couples for decades. In fact, I believe they even predate the 19 year old missionaries. However, they discovered a long time ago that the gray hairs were pretty much useless as salespeople, so they only send the young ones door to door, or use them to teach the lessons.

Oldster missionaries also don't have to follow the same rules as the 19 year old kids. They get to watch TV, go see movies, read newspapers, and even have sex with their companions.

Posted by: jezebel2mishies ( )
Date: June 21, 2012 05:10PM