Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: twojedis ( )
Date: July 25, 2012 11:34PM

Here's a quick recap of my post from last week, thanking everyone here for the kindness and support that my husband received here when trying to figure out how to tell me he wanted to leave the church.

A month ago, my husband (stuckinzion) told me he no longer believed in the church. I went through many emotions from bewilderment, to devastation, depression, disbelief, concern, wanting to save him, panic, a sense of betrayal, and more. I decided that if I studied with him, issue by issue, and helped him see the truth, that it was going to be my only shot at bringing him back.

Well.....things did not really work out the way I thought they would. We did study, but my study brought me around to his way of thinking. The outcome was not quite what I had anticipated. Now we are both leaving the church, but first we need to talk to our boys: 21, 18, 16, 12, and 8. We need to see where they stand, tell them what we know, and let them choose the path they wish to take. We will then be going in to talk to the Bishop to let him know where things stand. We have a kind, loving Bishop, and I know he will be blown away. He already knows about my husband, but we have been on vacation for 2 weeks and he has no idea what has occurred in that time. I only made my decision last Friday.

I'm writing now because we have had lots of questions about what made the difference in our situation. We have talked a lot about it, and we think we know why our marriage has worked out and survived, plus why I "turned to the dark side".