Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: anonforthis ( )
Date: January 10, 2013 06:46PM

This is driving me crazy! My college degree is from BYZoo. I hate having to tell people that and I hate having it on my resume. I've even thought about earning a degree somewhere else just so I can take the BYU degree off.
Has anyone come to peace with this?

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: resipsaloquitur ( )
Date: January 10, 2013 06:48PM

I have two degrees from that school down South. I hate it too. If I'm applying for a job where I know the employer is not a Mo, I usually show up to the interview with a large Starbucks prominently in hand.

Posted by: The Man in Black ( )
Date: January 10, 2013 06:48PM

Well yes but I went and got another degree so it's easier to hide.

Posted by: Jonny the Smoke ( )
Date: January 10, 2013 06:49PM

I don't mind because I'm an Engineer and BYU is well known and liked in industry for engineering (other degrees too). If anyone asks or comments, I do tell them I'm not a memebr of the church, just went to BYU.

Posted by: No Mo ( )
Date: January 10, 2013 06:55PM

No, I went to the U of U.

I was just trying to explain to my nephew two days ago that you are marked for life with that blue sheepskin. If you leave the cult, your resume will always show that you were probably Mo, unless you are an athlete on scholarship. Luckily, my nephew told me that he has chosen Texas Tech. He hasn't been able to be a missionary due to sex, another positive for his future.

I usually just tell people that I am not Mormon. It is embarrassing to admit that I fell for a cult, even though I was born into it.

In retrospect, I never would have gone to any school associated with that awful theocracy of Utard.

Marshall

Posted by: Yaqoob ( )
Date: January 10, 2013 07:33PM

I applied to BYU. Didn't get in. My mother cried.