Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: theauditor ( )
Date: January 28, 2013 02:14PM

What follows are simply my dispassionate observations of the various groups that I have associated with since my year out of the church.

I stopped believing in Mormonism right before I graduated from BYU. I became a part of several disbelieving groups, several of which atheism was the central basis for social connection. Many carried the appellation Exmormon or Postmormon (which is ironic, because if you're truly Postmormon, you certainly don't create a facebook page to rally troops to actively talk about the church and start protests) or Former Mormon. While the new-found camaraderie was momentarily refreshing, they nonetheless left something wanting in me. I began to notice that many people swing from one extreme to another. Many participants would claim to be much happier since leaving, and yet would post utterly depressing Facebook statuses about being angry and sad all the time. They were lacking a certain joie de vivre that I'm still looking for. So I removed myself from most of the groups, and try to concern myself with Mormonism as little as possible. But after some introspection, I've realized something about myself and these groups. I'm constantly leaving groups, and groups are constantly at each other's throats.