Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: moronijedi ( )
Date: March 16, 2013 04:05PM

I have a degree in history, with emphasis in early American history. Imagine the shock to find out from my child's fourth grade play that Joseph smith played a huge role in settling the west in the mid 1840's. I asked the mother responsible for the production (TBM) how that JS could have done this when the farthest he ever made it west was Illinois. Oh, everyone knows the Mormons were key to opening the west. Really....I walked away shaking my head.

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: No Mo ( )
Date: March 16, 2013 04:17PM

Well, when you kept making war on and scamming your neighbors and were booted from three states, at the time, there was no place else to go but west. I wonder where autocrat Young was planning on taking my starving ancestors in 1858 during the Utah War when he threatened to burn down Salt Lake City. I believe that his plan was to head north. That would have be nice. Imagine Utah without the Mormons. Canada could have had them.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 03/16/2013 05:04PM by No Mo.

Posted by: Uncle Dale ( )
Date: March 16, 2013 04:43PM

Smith really did have plans to capture Mexico north of the
Rio Grande for the Mormons. His secret political government,
the Council of Fifty, was busy negotiating with the Republic
of Texas, when he was assassinated in 1844.

The Council of Fifty had plans to expand Mormon control west
from Nauvoo and were organizing exploring parties and studying
reports from that region before the Mexican War broke out.

Had Smith not crossed the Mississippi, back over to Nauvoo,
in June of 1844, he would have likely remained in Iowa, or
have ventured even farther west. In 1869, Joseph F. Smith
claimed that his uncle, the Prophet, was on his way to the
Rocky Mountains, when Emma's pleas brought him back to Illinois.