Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: jolene ( )
Date: January 24, 2011 11:58PM

I saw a great little blurb today about scientific thinking. I think I was born a scientific thinker - even when I started studying the church history more, I was always asking myself this question.

Here is the link and some of the text from the article. I can't wait to try and use some of this logic in my next discussion with a TBM. I'm sure they will say that they have no desire to disprove anything about the gospel, but maybe it will cause a hair-line crack.

http://www.edge.org/q2011/q11_1.html

"In a democratic and demotic society like ours, the biggest challenge to scientific thinking is the tendency to embrace views on the basis of faith or of ideology. A majority of Americans doubt evolution because it goes against their religious teachings; and at least a sizeable minority are skeptical about global warming — or more precisely, the human contributions to global change — because efforts to counter climate change would tamper with the 'free market'."

"If American citizens, or, for that matter, citizens anywhere were motivated to decribe the conditions under which they would relinquish their beliefs, they would begin to think scientifically. And if they admitted that empirical evidence would not change their minds, then at least they'd have indicated that their views have a religious or an ideological, rather than a scientific basis."

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: imaworkinonit ( )
Date: January 25, 2011 12:21AM

I like the question!

That reminds me that Steven Hassan suggested asking a similar question when dealing with cult exit counseling. He would ASK cult members what it would take to convince them to leave their cult.

Basically, they were telling him the info they needed to feel good about leaving.