Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Once More ( )
Date: July 10, 2013 12:29PM

Excellent discussion going on in the Freethought Blogs thread. Link in the OP.

Excerpt from "Sastra":

"Religious faith is a commitment to spin the evidence so that it either supports the existence of God … or it supports the existence of God even more! Skeptical doubts are called “struggles” and you’re supposed to get major credit for not changing your mind no matter what. Because that is what it is to be humble."

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: ladell ( )
Date: July 10, 2013 12:33PM

There was no talk of intelligent design or god when I studied evolution at YBU, maybe things have changed

Date: July 10, 2013 12:52PM

Link to thread in which Steve Benson discusses organic evolution with LDS leaders:

http://exmormon.org/phorum/read.php?2,950869

Date: July 10, 2013 01:54PM

From the comments below the PZ Myers post:

"What I was teached [sic] about mormon doctrine, after 1992 it is important to add, is that there was no death nor procreation on earth until the fall of Adam about 6000 years ago. I cannot imagine what kind of evolutionary theory they are teaching that doesn’t include death and reproduction. How is it possible that students, atleast in the 90ies, didn’t notice this HUGE contradiction? How are animals supposed to evolve in a paradisical state where everything is immortal and sex is unknown?"

Date: July 10, 2013 02:13PM

The OP on Freethought Blogs links to this article:
http://www.deseretnews.com/article/865557613/Science-and-faith-Navigating-the-world-of-discovery.html?pg=all

Excerpt below:

Mike Bell, a pastor for South Mountain Community Church in Draper, said he's skeptical any time scientists say they have a new discovery.

"Call me a cynic, but I feel like it's going to be the emperor's new clothes again," he said.