Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: JonathanTech ( )
Date: August 06, 2013 03:52PM

I've been suppressing feelings of doubt for several years since my mission. I've played the part of being a TBM very well until recently when I eventually talked to a non-mormon therapist. I realized I've been living a lie for so long because I don't want to shake the boat and because I am fully aware of the potential upheaval of my life the admittance my non-belief could cause for me.

I have always been the poster child for my family, and I haven't wanted to ever disappoint my mother as she is truly one of the most kind and gentle hearted people that I know (at least in my childhood perception of her) and I know she would be personally devastated by me removing myself from the church.

I finally gave myself permission to believe what I believed, and I accept that 3rd kingdom of heaven as a pretty nice place and I am comfortable with being placed there if that's what awaits me for being atheist and abandoning "the church."

I realized nearly instantly that I really don't need to do much research to provide myself sufficient evidence to leave the church, I've been mentally compiling it for the last 9 years. Too many "inspired" leaders that aren't and temples continuing to let me in regardless of the guilt I felt. Being able to LIE straight to "discerning" leaders directly to their face during the temple interviews. The incredible waste of sacred Tithing money when I worked for the church in their IT department. The infighting of the different organizations inside of "the corporation for the presiding bishop" or whatever it was called, but the infighting and politics that caused that waste was very problematic to me.