Exmormon Bios  : RfM
Exmormon's exit stories about how and why they left the church. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: sid143 ( )
Date: February 14, 2014 09:09PM

A Confirmation from the Other Side

New Year’s Eve 2008 will always be a special memory. My wife and I had recently left the church because of Prop 8, and we decided to celebrate it in New York City. There are various reasons why this particular New Year’s Eve party was so memorable, and they are all very different and yet connected. Let me explain.

For as long as I can remember I have spent every New Year’s Eve celebration playing in a band. I am a jazz musician and this is the one gig each year where we actually get paid what we feel we are worth. I don’t remember ever being with my wife and having the chance to welcome in the New Year with a kiss at midnight. But that was going to change this year.

The 2008 trip to New York was also OUR “coming out” party; in 2005 our gay son had moved to Manhattan to fulfill his life-long dream of attending NYU. He was there studying for his Masters Degree in Psychology, with emphasis on treating adolescent gender issues. He had decided that it was now his role to help other young people, and their parents, traverse the troubling times he had experienced as a young gay boy. We wanted to spend this special time with him and his new-found family in New York. (He also went to New York because he no longer felt accepted or safe in Utah and remains there to this day.)