Exmormon Bios  : RfM
Exmormon's exit stories about how and why they left the church. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Aaron Hines ( )
Date: May 03, 2012 02:05PM

Hello everyone.

I've been reading some of the stories here, and wanted to post my own as well.

I have the rare privilege of being a former member of both the Jehovah's Witnesses and Mormons. My father rejoined the JWs when I was in eighth grade, and I studied with them through high school, but left without being baptized (thankfully, allowing me to avoid being disfellowshipped and shunned).

One of my close friends just after high school was Mormon. I went to a couple of YSA activities with him, and drove him to evening classes a few times (sitting out in the lobby reading a book while he was in class). Also attended FHE where they showed the "Families are Forever" slideshow/video. On the way home from that one, I said "I gotta ask...what the hell was that crap?"

In early 1999, I was really depressed due to bad luck with jobs and dating (I had been on a total of maybe two "dates" by that point). Despite him being in a similar situation to me, he always seemed happy. One day I jokingly asked him, "You can't hold down a job, you have no money, no girlfriend, you live with your Mom, and yet you're always happy! WHY?" That started my initiation of the Mormon church.