Exmormon Bios  : RfM
Exmormon's exit stories about how and why they left the church. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: flyboy21 ( )
Date: May 24, 2012 07:36PM

Author's Note: I've been a long-time reader of this board, and I want to preface this story by saying that I respect everyone else's experiences and stories immensely. I recognize I have nowhere near the level of hurt or familial destruction that others experienced. I skated in and out pretty clean, and some may even been thoroughly disgusted with my experiences altogether as it seems like I was never honest during my tenure in the TSCC. All I have to say for myself is we all have our stories. This one isn't flattering, but it's mine. And my hope is that it will shed some light on the "Priesthood Powers" for those honest souls who may be in doubt or knew all along that they were bunk.

Ok folks, let me introduce myself. I'm a late 20-something airline pilot. I come from a very well-off family, with a father who originally immigrated to the United States to study marine biology and a mother who descends from the "Old South," although was extremely progressive and even a part of the Civil Rights movement in our native Virginia. I come from the Eastern Shore region, for those who know it. My father, despite getting a Ph.D. in Marine Biology, never really got into it professionally. He had worked for a company installing marine radios and selling boat equipment to pay off school debts, and eventually wound up owning the company. He ran it out of Annapolis and had a branch in Ft. Lauderdale, Florida. My mother had a Ph.D. in education and worked for the state of Maryland. We lived on the Maryland shore in a beautiful house directly overlooking the Chesapeake Bay. Our boat was moored at our private dock, and we would use it when we weren't getting to travel all over Europe, Asia, and the Caribbean. Life couldn't look much better than that, right?