Exmormon Bios  : RfM
Exmormon's exit stories about how and why they left the church. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: liedtomywholelife ( )
Date: July 09, 2013 04:21PM

This is my story so far. I’m not very good with words or my writing so I apologize. This is an extremely shortened version.

I was BIC to a convert Dad and a BIC Mom with lots of Mormon pioneer heritage. I grew up in Utah. 7 kids in my family. I never really fit in with them. My family was super TBM and I was always the “black sheep”. I always hated going to church and having to wear a Sunday dress all day. Modesty was upheld to the extreme. My sisters definitely fit the “Molly Mo/Holier than thou” image. My parents are great parents…. Just super TBM.

During my teenage years I started really not loving church or feeling like I fit in. I had moments of trying hard to “feel the spirit”, but it didn’t happen. I somewhat enjoyed Sunday school because of a few guys in my ward that I got to spend more time with. Which leads to getting into “trouble” with a few of them. A few things I remember from then...
1. I didn’t feel bad about messing around with those guys.
2. I did however feel like I couldn’t lie to my bishop. He in turn wanted to know everything in detail and had me repeat several points of it. Shortly after this his son who was my friend (not one I messed around with) told me his dad said he couldn’t hang out with me anymore. Also, I was not allowed to graduate from Seminary because my bishop deemed me Unworthy…. But crazy thing is that the guy the unworthiness was with DID get to graduate seminary. I was hurt, but only now realize how horribly wrong all of that was…. And not on my part.
I had to deal with people talking behind my back because of all of it. It sucked.