Exmormon Bios  : RfM
Exmormon's exit stories about how and why they left the church. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: thegoodman ( )
Date: August 03, 2020 01:05PM

So, within the past month, I have officially become ex-Mormon but the reasons I left unofficially(inactive) are a bit layered. Quick chronology:

• Birth-2008 - BIC, baptized at 8, married in temple at 20, went inactive and husband soon followed.
• 2008-2013 - lived inactive with husband, then divorced after 5 years.
• 2016 - had an artistic awakening and in desperation seeking help from God, started attending church again.
• 2017-2018 - went to BYU-I to become an English teacher.
• November 2018 - stopped attending church and dropped out of school
• March 2019 - still living in Rexburg, had a gender identity crisis and attempted suicide. Returned east to live with parents.

I am an artist and a writer and have always been a bit "spacey" with a deep fantasy life. It's how I cope with stress. Growing up in the church, I didn't really feel a lot of pressure about repentance and cleanliness of thought until after 18. At least, I didn't take it seriously until I was in the adult classes and readying to go to the temple to get married. So, all during my teen years, there were no cages on my fantasies. They were light and dark, fun and juvenile and erotic. Anything goes. When I fell away in 2008, I returned to this unfettered creativity of the mind and dealt with stress and writing without any moral bars or chains.

I am a very genuine person. Once I hit adulthood, I found it hard to compartmentalize my attendance to church. I CAN'T sit there for three hours, listening to the repetition of lessons, testimonies, and songs, smiling in kindness and warmth to the members, and then just go home and 6 days out of the week do "what I want to do" regardless of teachings. I just can't. So, if I'm gonna go, it's going to be all the way.