Exmormon Bios  : RfM
Exmormon's exit stories about how and why they left the church. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: JustRob ( )
Date: August 06, 2012 01:12PM

I was a BIC TBM, but never had a testimony until I was 15. I felt something during a prayer, & based my life on that singular emotional anomaly.

2002-2004 I served a mission in Chile & baptized many people
2005 I toured Europe for 48 days & handed out BOMs & taught missionary discussions
2006 I graduated from BYU-I
2007 I was married in the Temple & bought a home
2008 my daughter was born & I bore testimony the next Sunday, still explicitly referencing my experience at age 15 as the "reason why I knew it was true."

In 2009, I "felt the spirit" for the 2nd time at a temple dedication. It was in regard to something my Stake Pres told me. I distinctly felt that he was lying.

Later, through detective work, I found out that he had NOT lied. He had told me something true, & my emotional bias had lead to a feeling that I associated with "the spirit."

I had been 100% Mormon for 11 years. I had committed almost no sins (& definitely no grave sins) during that entire span of time. I'd been EQP, Ward Mish Pres, Gosp Doctrine Instructor, etc... Yet, I had only felt "the spirit" twice, and 1 of those times was demonstrably false.

So, my testimony was immediately meaningless.
I did what any good mormon would. I re-read the entire standard works, I fasted & prayed sometimes 3 days at a time, & I felt nothing.

More importantly, I realized that without a testimony I didn't rationalize away the illogicalities of the scriptures. I did research them trying to look for loopholes that would make them accurate... but they weren't there.

In 2010, my son was born & I decided I couldn't live a lie, & that it would harm my son. I was ward clerk at the time, & I shredded my BOM in the clerk's paper shredder. I walked out, & I never went back.