Exmormon Bios  : RfM
Exmormon's exit stories about how and why they left the church. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: khark ( )
Date: August 10, 2012 02:18AM

I was a TBM, a BIC kid actually. I got baptized at 8. I was included in all leadership positions imaginable as I grew up -- deacons president, teachers president, priest first counselor, and Youth Conference representative/committee participant. I attended seminary and received a scripture mastery medal. I went on a 2-year mission and completed an honorable mission. I attended Brigham Young University and got married in the temple. I was a teacher in Primary, Sunday School, Priesthood, and missionary preparation classes. I held leadership positions in Elders quorum, High Priests quorum, and in the bishopric. I had four children, of whom I baptized and confirmed myself. I have read the scriptures countless times and memorized a swath of verses by heart. This allows you to imagine what kind of TBM I was.

However, I have always been an independent thinker. I believe in equality and respect for all people. I do not judge or belittle others. I listen and give advice when asked and not unsolicited. I am a well rounded person who is able to get involved in many circles. I am well acquainted with both Mormons and non-Mormons. I travel extensively because of my job and I was able to meet a diverse group of people in which I am grateful to know and to associate with during my life.