Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Lydia ( )
Date: August 25, 2013 10:21AM

And I, for once was lost for words.
I have not been at church for 8 months and have had very little contact apart from those who are good friends.
Today get a call from the RS president, few niceties, and then she comes to the point.
Did I know...... Not really.
Well she continues ....... has lost their job, feels down, needs a friend and Bishop has said church will provide food for two weeks. Would I be willing to go shopping with..... for food, buy it ( and put in receipts to be reimbursed), and take it to......!
Now I know that I should have said "What", but I was genuinely so shocked I was lost for words.
I am not very good at being rude, and don't like the thought of others without food
That said,and as hubby pointed out, what about our welfare system ( Uk)
Said not this week.
I am sure there is more to this. But really for all the RS president knew I could have lost my job, been down etc!!
Where are the councillors in RS, compassionate services leader, VT etc? Anyone would think that this was a ploy to try and reactivate me.
I am glad, once more, for RFM for a place to write this down.
If only we could have a Cheryl hose for pointing down the phone!!

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: CL2 ( )
Date: August 25, 2013 11:48AM

It is interesting how she didn't even ask how you were doing. Maybe she hadn't noticed you were missing.

I had a friend who was very active in the ward. She played the piano, sang, etc. She missed church for 6 weeks at one time to see if anyone missed her. She cried when telling me (the inactive) that nobody even asked her where she was. Being in Utah, the whole ward lives within a few block radius.