Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: pamelaf3211 ( )
Date: December 09, 2013 11:54PM

I was a recent convert of only 9 months. I left the church last week. I'm new in my town and new to this ward. New to the whole religion. I can't believe I'm saying this but I miss the friends and the family environment.

I'll NEVER go back. I've even written my arguments and research down so that IF they come wanting to talk me back, I'll be ready to defend my reasons for leaving.

However, the interesting thing is that NO ONE is coming to try to get me back and that's a mixed feeling. On one hand, I'm happy so that now I can go explore my new religion of choice next Sunday. But on another hand, I miss my friends. Such a WEIRD feeling, knowing good and well that this religion is so wrong but the feeling I got around my "church family" felt so right.

Will they actually do what I hope and leave me be, so that I can recover from this quickly?

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: Strength in the Loins ( )
Date: December 10, 2013 12:04AM

Not likely. If you left a forwarding address, they will find you. Even if you didn't leave a forwarding address, they will probably find you.

You just have to be up front with them and tell them you want no contact. If you really want out, you should resign.

www.mormonresignation dot com

This will tell you most everything you need to know about the process.

I will say that the one thing that I will miss is having the Elders quorum show up at my place the next time that I have to move.

Date: December 10, 2013 12:11AM

Oh no, I didn't move. I'm still in the same town and same house. I've been so shocked that it's been almost a week and no one has tried to co-erce me back. :) It's kinda awesome, and sad at the same time because I do miss their friendships.