Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Newbie ( )
Date: February 10, 2014 11:05AM

Forgive me for asking such an elementary question but I am new to all of this.

I have gathered that JS did some translating while burying his face in a hat that had peepstones, right? Does this mean that the golden plates never existed at all? Or were the plates in a different location?

So, I am confused. According to the LDS, did the plates exist or not?

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: Facsimile 3 ( )
Date: February 10, 2014 11:12AM

LDS would claim that the plates existed, as attested to by the 3 and 8 witnesses. However, according to translation witnesses, the plates were not used in the process. Joseph Smith's father-in-law stated that the plates were hidden out in the woods while Joseph was translating them with his face and seer stone in a hat.

The problem with the 3 and 8 witnesses is that based on statements by 2 of the 3--Martin Harris and David Whitmer--the "seeing" the plates was a metaphysical experience as opposed to a literal/tangible one. Martin Harris went so far as to say that this "spiritual eye" seeing of the plates was also the case for the 8 witnesses, which is why they hesitated to sign their statement in the BoM today. My understanding is that there is no signed statement, but just the names of the 8 witnesses written by the hand of Oliver Cowdery.

Posted by: Chump ( )
Date: February 10, 2014 11:51AM

"My understanding is that there is no signed statement, but just the names of the 8 witnesses written by the hand of Oliver Cowdery."

Correct. There's no evidence that they signed anything. You can view the statements that Oliver wrote at josephsmithpapers...along with a lot of other stupid documents...

Posted by: Newbie ( )
Date: February 10, 2014 11:17AM

OK. Thanks for the clarification.