Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: kimnotnaomi ( )
Date: March 13, 2014 08:00PM

My sweetheart and I are planning a move to Oregon soon. I just finished my teaching degree and I will be attending an Educators Fair in Portland this April. Anyone here from Oregon? We are looking at Salem, Eugene, or the Portland area. I was wondering if any of you might recommend any others. Thanks!

Kim J.

(Susan, does O/T mean "off topic"? I don't want to break any board rules here with posting this - thanks. Let me know if it is inappropriate)

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: Heathen ( )
Date: March 13, 2014 08:14PM

FYI - I have heard through the teaching grapevine, and from a teacher relative there, and from relatives with kids in the system there, that Oregon's K-12 public ed system is screwed up. Lots of funding issues. I'm a WA State teacher.

I will give you this - Oregon is a beautiful state. It would be on my short list as a place to retire.

Date: March 14, 2014 10:13AM

What are some of the better school districts in WA?

Posted by: donbagley ( )
Date: March 13, 2014 08:20PM

You're looking at a beautiful area--northwestern Oregon. I've lived there. The forests are lush with ferns and mushrooms. There's so much precipitation that many locals call the rain "Oregon sunshine." Some of the small towns are a bit Klannish, so do your homework.

Posted by: pathfinder ( )
Date: March 13, 2014 08:28PM

Bend, (central Oregon) Is a great place to live. Western Oregon when I live now is beautiful but LOTS of rain. I would go back to Bend in a minute. Loved living there. Most all of Oregon is great. Lots of small towns. Portland is too big and seem to have a lot of crime but also has lots of things to do there. Sherwood, Tualatin, Are nice towns just south of Portland.

Posted by: madalice ( )
Date: March 13, 2014 08:31PM