Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: foundoubt ( )
Date: March 17, 2014 10:07AM

I am no legal expert, but I noticed a glaring omission by the church lawyers. While reading through the updates posted here, I came to realize that their arguments centered around the character and authority of Tom Phillips to bring these charges. They also attacked the lawsuit itself, calling it vexatious, etc.
But I didn't see a clear logical refutation of the charges. They didn't deny wrongdoing. That says a lot.

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: Devoted Exmo ( )
Date: March 17, 2014 10:10AM

The purpose of that hearing (from the point of view of the LDS barristers) was to get the case tossed out. So their job wasn't to defend against the charges yet. We'll see on Thursday if it goes forward and then they'll have to argue the case.

Posted by: azsteve ( )
Date: March 17, 2014 11:05AM

The purpose of that hearing was in fact for Monson to answer yes or no to the truthfulness of the charges. The court required nothing more. LDS Inc tried to use it as an opportunity to weasel out of the charges using legal technicalities and attacks on Tom Phillips, while making only weak arguments in their own defense concerning the actual charges.

Posted by: Levi ( )
Date: March 17, 2014 10:11AM

They weren't focused on that, rather they were trying to get it thrown out.

On the chance it is put forward to a trial, that's when they will do that.

You can bet there are some meetings this week at the COB.

Posted by: sherlock ( )
Date: March 17, 2014 10:13AM

I don't think that was ever their intention at this early stage. Their goal was probably just to get the case dismissed as quietly and quickly as possible. If it goes further, the next legal team will have the really difficult job of defending the charges.