Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: latterdayslave ( )
Date: April 05, 2014 03:53AM

I realized I need support. I love my Mormon friends here in Provo, but As I no longer believe in the church, I find it hard to connect with them. They would die if they ever found out. Feeling like the loneliest girl in Provo right now....

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: Angrydoubter ( )
Date: April 05, 2014 04:16AM

Hello Latter Day Slave (I feel the same myself), I am a BYU student as well. I regularly lurk, even on BYUs computers. The Danites haven't found me thus far, so I figure I'm safe. I can relate to how you feel. It's tough to live in our circumstances considering our reformed views.

Date: April 05, 2014 04:32AM

Sorry about my short reply, I needed to switch to my laptop from my iOS for easier typing.

It's tough going, and my mind mirrors your thoughts on "finding it hard to connect with them." We're decent people, and we are able to befriend other Mormons rather easily due to our same backgrounds. However, there is difficulty in truly relating to them due to our widely different viewpoints. You can't look at the Matrix of Mormonism the same after you take the red pill of truth.

I started doubting in high school, and that made the last few months of my Senior year a discomfort. People looked down on me as a liar, one deceived by Satan, etc. The way I was treated and the way I felt betrayed due to the constant spoon feeding of distorted history/doctrine was enough for me to not go on a mission. That was probably the best decision I have ever made.