Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: honestone ( )
Date: April 05, 2014 10:27AM

I agree totally with knowitsfalse. Obama was against it too at that time. But this guy gets ousted. Forced out, right? Sad that freedom of speech is dead. Feel sorry for all men and women who can not tolerate another's views different from your own.

I am a teacher and we certainly DO NOT teach that all must agree with their teacher's view or the Governor's view or the President's view. Here so many seem to think that type of 'teaching' is the way it should go. Listen to yourselves!!!

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 04/05/2014 10:32AM by honestone.

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: Human ( )
Date: April 05, 2014 11:06AM

Those of your opinion must stop saying that "freedom of speech is dead". This case actually shows that freedom of speech is alive. Mr. Eich is speaking freely, as are the protestors that seem responsible for his being ousted, as are the reporters telling us the story, as are we talking about it. This is definitely not a case of curtailed free speech. Remember, no where in the constitution does it say we are free from the consequences of our speech.

But I do see the concern your view is trying to articulate. Andrew Sullivan is expressing (freely) the same view:

http://dish.andrewsullivan.com/2014/04/04/brandon-eich-and-hillary-clinton/

Will the LGBT community support Hillary Clinton in 2016 should she choose to run? If so, is that hypocrisy? It's a good question. Let's keep in mind that Hillary recanted while Eich did not.

Personally, I'm conflicted. The Soviet-style *thought purity* we see in politics disturbs me terribly. But on the other hand, I see collective protest against corporations as one of the last ways we as individuals can effectively 'have our say.'

Posted by: axeldc ( )
Date: April 05, 2014 11:11AM