Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: neverMOinproVO ( )
Date: May 15, 2014 11:52PM

A lot of the Mormons I know are quite interested in other cultures. Some are interested in asian cultures, some in middle eastern cultures, some African cultures etc etc.

How the hell do they justify celebrating other cultures when they believe that everybody should drop their religion and join Mormonism? It kind of pisses me off just thinking about it. Its like they want everybody to be some big white, nuclear, bible humping family who believes with a big Prozac induced smile all the time.....

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: hayduke ( )
Date: May 16, 2014 12:06AM

I hear you. I did have a 'cultural crisis' Of sorts. Leaving Mormonism and eschewing that culture, I was desperate to discover my cultural heritage. I studied customs, traditions, and foods, and I was happy to discover that, even though mormon culture was definitely dominant in my upbringing, I was also given some aspects of a cultural tradition that I am definitely more proud of.

Posted by: donbagley ( )
Date: May 16, 2014 12:31AM

Mormon observance of multi-cultural holidays:

Jan 1: New Weird Eve. Mormons drink bubbly apple juice and hang plastic mistletoe. Any one caught under the mistletoe has to recite a favorite Book of Mormon verse.

Third Monday in Jan: Martin Luther Burger King Day. Mormons feast on bright orange soda and Sons of Ham burgers.

May 5: Sinkhole de Mayo. Mormons dig a hole and throw mayonnaise into it. They wear sombreros and play untuned guitars.

July 4: Blow it all to hell day. Utahns get surface to air rockets in Wyoming and set them off over dry fields.

July 24: Pioneer Day. Mormons harass other Mormons who pull handcarts like suckers.

Second Monday in October: Columbus Day. Mormons celebrate the overthrow of Lamanites in America.