Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Anniegal ( )
Date: July 01, 2014 09:50PM

I joined because I was a big Osmond fan. You all know how the Osmonds promoted the LDS church. I took the missionary lessons twice. I was a sophomore in college at a liberal arts school at the time when I decided it was time to be baptized.

After I was baptized, the missionaries and I were invited to dinner at a members home. They were from Utah. The patriarch asked me during dinner what my father did for a living. I replied that he was a tobacco farmer and a tobacco auctioneer. Now I take great pride in my 8th generation tobacco farm family here in Virginia. The man actually turned his nose up at me and didn't speak to me again. I thought he was rude.

The first time I attended Relief Society, I wore a nice pants suit. No one spoke to me the whole meeting. The next Sunday I was given a sheet of paper stating the women were to wear dresses at all times. I thought it strange.

The next Sunday I attended a youth gathering at the Stake center. I was in a room with kids similar in age. A man stood in front of the room and asked us questions as how we would respond to different questions. The other kids responded with different answers. When he asked us if we would vote for someone if the Prophet told us to, the whole group (except me) responed enthusiastically in unison a loud 'YES!' I was floored! I was taught by my parents that you should vote for the candidate who represented your values. I was deeply disturbed.