Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Anomnomnom ( )
Date: August 17, 2014 06:24PM

I have to share this because it has bothered me for a little while now.

My best friend since elementary school grade got married recently (She is a TBM). For her bridal shower she asked me to make her centerpiece. She wanted a cake that required a fondant covering. I told her I could try and figured someone would be paying for it. Now, I know I should have made this clear up front, but I didn't.

I had never made a cake with fondant so I started learning how to make fondant and how to put fondant on a cake. I had to try three times before I got the final product completed. It turns out no one was even going to offer to pay for it. So it came out of my pocket. So, I chalked it up to that would be my wedding present to her.

A little over a week before her wedding I was at her house and just before I left she stopped me to tell me she had accidently bought an extra bridesmaid skirt and asked if I wanted to be a bridesmaid. I was hurt that I was just an afterthought and was never even considered to be a bridesmaid until they realized they had an extra skirt, but I accepted and took the skirt home.

Her wedding day came and I stood outside the temple and waited for her to come out with the crowd of other people that were there. They didn't take bridesmaids pictures there because it was hot and they had already decided to take them at the church building just before the reception that night.

Well, I was never invited. She didn't tell me they were taking bridesmaids pictures an hour before the reception. So, I am not in any of her pictures. I thought her best friend of 10+ years would at least get a picture with her.