Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: DonQuijote ( )
Date: May 03, 2013 06:16PM

Last night the wife of one of my best friends called me crying so bad I could barely understand her.

Just a little background so you can understand what's going on here, her husband and I studied and converted to fundamentalism about 6 years ago, and at one point we were both looking for a 2nd wife to marry. I stopped looking about a year ago when I became disillusioned, and then announced to him a few months ago that I was done with Fundamentalism and Mormonism completely. He was upset, felt like I abandoned him, and thought that I was gullible and naive believing the things I read from books and the internet that were "anti-mormon." He gave me 2 days to try and convince him it wasn't true, and I sent him some mighty good evidence that he just ignored or said it was from the devil. I even mailed him a copy of Grant Palmer's book Mormon Origins. Turns out he never read it, but his wife did...

So we talked on the phone for several hours. My wife also spoke with her. She was at her wit's end. A couple years ago she started to doubt Joseph Smith, but her husband and I "set her straight" by giving her books to read. I'm very ashamed of that now, and I feel responsible for what's going on in their marriage. Anyway she confided that her husband is still talking to a girl online, and that's all he's done every day for the past year almost. He forgot their 10 year anniversary, and when he did remember later, he took her out and all he talked about was his girlfriend.