Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: soju ( )
Date: September 22, 2013 01:45PM

I've been lurking around reading the board for a while now, but this is my first time posting. I left the TSCC about 4 years ago after the birth of my first child (it was the life-changing event that led to self reflection and eventually abandonment of mormonism and also the notion of a god).

I haven't told my parents yet. My dad has been going through a lot, and as far as he knows I'm the last of his kids to remain in the church. I was the eldest, the only one to serve on a mission, the only one to get married (in the temple). My wife still believes and she takes my kids to church, so I usually avoid the issue of church or deflect with statements like "the kids are really enjoying primary" when asked about the ward (that I don't actually attend).

I just found out that he is about to go into surgery, in an hour or two, and I had no idea this was going to happen (my sister dropped the ball on letting me know). He has asked that I come by before it happens. He didn't say it directly, but I'm 99% sure he is going to ask me to perform a priesthood blessing. Which I won't / can't do. I've thought about just lying and faking my way through it but... I don't think I can handle that kind of a lie. But I also don't want to drop the "I'm an Atheist" bomb on him right before he goes under.

I feel like I'm between a rock and a hard place, and I've got pretty much nobody I can talk to who relates. Anyone been in a similar situation or have any advice?

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: marcion ( )
Date: September 22, 2013 01:55PM