Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: clark ( )
Date: October 03, 2014 11:59PM

Hey everybody. So this is my first time ever using a forum thingamajig, so bear with me.

Here's what's going on. I'm about to leave on a mission for the LDS church. I actually leave in 5 days. State side. And I know for a fact that the Mormon church is not the one and only true church of God here on this earth. In fact, I now know that there isn't a single church that is 'true'. But I do believe in the Bible, and I most certainly know that there is a God, and Jesus is my salvation.

See, I'm 19, and I grew up in the church. And I always thought that what I was being told was true. So lo and behold, I'm absolutely floored when I go through the temple to receive my endowment. That is not of God. So for the next 2 weeks, I get pretty deep into researching the Mormon church. I wasn't going to take it on 'faith', aka that warm fuzzy feeling in my chest. (I figure I thought the church was true, because it had to do with Christ. I didn't question it past that. Oops.)

Well, to my surprise, I dug up a lot of dirt on the church. A whooooole lot. And what I found wasn't just "Anti-Mormon" material. They were cold hard facts, and many came straight from the church's historical records. No wonder we're told not to look at "Anti-Mormon" materials. They prove the church is false!

I mean, we've got Mark Hofmann, the Mountain Meadows Massacre, the death oaths in the pre-1990 endowment ceremony, the Nauvoo Expositor, a complete lack of archaeological evidence to support the Book of Mormon, the inherent racism prevalent throughout, View of the Hebrews, the Kinderhook Plates, etc. The list goes on and on and on! It's disgusting. I've been lied to for 19 years. It was hard enough for me to forgive my mom for leaving me as a kid. How the heck can I ever forgive the church??